We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Great News, Code to refresh newsfeed! | Forum

jeo
jeo Jan 6 '12
Iv been trying for a long time to auto refresh the page, but still havent got that far yet! BUT i have now found away so the newsfeed will auto refresh, just copy & past this code in admin panel/css (<meta http-equiv='refresh' content='(10seconds);file_name=/.ow_newsfeed">) and click save! Just to let you know it want auto refresh but it self in a way, it will only refresh when you comment back to a post or probs when posting a comment!

I rely do hope that this will help out a lot of you :)
Mark
Mark Feb 6 '12
the downside to the above is that it will refresh the whol,e page even if your half way through replying to something
jeo
jeo Feb 7 '12
i am not a programer so i am very poor with all this i was just going with my head sorry, it mite be better if placed on the newsfeed file it self!

Plus also Leo i need some help, i want to set all notifications mail, Admin compost mail and welcome mail to also receive in members mailbox on site to help me communicate with members much easier. I be very happy if you can help me do this i will pay for each one done.
Martin
Martin Nov 12 '13
Where do we have to put this?!  
MarkieMark67
MarkieMark67 Nov 12 '13
I have a solution But it still refreshes the page but with some binding commands. Any movement of the Mouse, Keyboard, and so on will reset the timer. 

Admin/Main Settings/Page Settings add this command to Custom head code.

<script>

var time = new Date().getTime();

$(document.body).bind("blur focus focusin focusout load resize scroll unload click dblclick mousedown mouseup mousemove mouseover mouseout mouseenter mouseleave change select submit keydown keypress keyup error hover change", function(e) {

time = new Date().getTime();

});

function refresh() {