We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Upload videos | Forum

Martin Hudspeth
Martin Hudspeth Jan 23 '15
Hi All,

I'm new to Oxwall so please excuse me if this seems a stupid question but ....

How do i upload videos that people can watch?

Most of the people that will access my website are in China so to embed YouTube or any others is out the question (most are banned or blocked here). I hope to download some training videos and upload them to my server for students to watch.

Any ideas would be useful.

Cheers

Martin

Kieron H Leader
Kieron H Jan 23 '15
u could download the youtube vid upload to the site directory somewhere then embed that 
Martin Hudspeth
Martin Hudspeth Jan 25 '15
Hi Rebecca, I have tried the Video Uploader - Redesigned but it just crashes my site. It will upload a video and then stop. I have left it for 8 hours to upload a 1.9mb video, I had to go into the server and kill the processes.

Kieron, I am trying to do this but it keeps telling me "Video resource is not allowed" can you please tell me what format to embed the file? I am trying with MP4 file format. also, how to embed the video file on my server? I have uploaded the file and copied the url but that is not working.

Anyone with any ideas??

Austeyr
Austeyr Jan 26 '15
might need to check with your server if your allowed to host videos first, but mp4 should work. add a folder into the public directory, call it vidz or something like that, then add a rewrite condition in to your .htaccess file allowing access to that folder. then use the youtube iframe (or an iframe of any type really) to embed the video on your site.

eg..

upload a mp4 file into your public directory in to a folder called vidz 

( Fact: adding the video into the folder is better other wise you will need to make an rewrite condition in .htaccess for every video instead of just one folder one time)