We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

What am i doing wrong? | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Support » General Questions
Dawn
Dawn Oct 6 '12
Hi folks,

I've installed Oxwall and gone to the store to add some plug-ins but for the life of me i can't figure out how to get them to show up on the available plug-in list. 

I'm not a web developer so please make the explanations easy!

Thanks

Dawn

Pete
Pete Oct 7 '12

You want to install plugins for your Oxwall u mean ?

Dawn
Dawn Oct 7 '12
yes Pete, i've been to the store and downloaded them on to my computer, but they are not showing up when i go to my oxwall site.

what am i doing wrong?

Pete
Pete Oct 7 '12
go to your admin ,click on Plugins /add new /brows to pluging on your computer you downloaded,then click upload/  it may ask you for your ftp user name and password  if so use the user name and password you use to log into your hosting account .Now you have uploaded plugin click on aviable plugins and you should see yours ,now go to plugin and put your mouse on it and you will see install ,just click on install  
The Forum post is edited by Pete Oct 7 '12
Purusothaman Ramanujam
The better way would be to upload the plugin zip files manually to the ow_plugins folder of you oxwall installation using cpanel or anyother FTP apps .

Unzip them.

Activate the plugins in your admin.

(Many users face difficulty in using FTP uploads. So I suggest this method)
Dawn
Dawn Oct 7 '12
Pete, that was the first thing i tried but when the FTP details come up every time i put in my details it says "Invalid FTP attributes! Provided user doesn't have permissions to overwrite files."

I've spoken to my hosting company to verify the information is correct but it's just not letting me add the files.

Do you have any ideas?

Purusothaman Ramanujam
Dawn,